FMP Evaluation and Feedback + Copyright and Health/Safety

Feedback

I received very positive feedback on my final designs, throughout the process i had help from peers to help evaluate my work, what suited better, what font was the best during the design stages, all valuable advice that led me to improve my final designs.

Feedback from Asher –

+ good target audience, the posters match your brief/ space genre

+ interactive as it had different things like the posters, box, stickers paintings so the viewer could get a broad sense of what the planet looks like
improvements : if there were more space, lay more of the posters out on different sizes

For my FMP, I used Photoshop, mainly for the drawing/painting alongside the imagery editing combined, I used Illustrator to create more stylised and sharp shaped designs. After effects for video editing, creating a speed video and show reel.  I also did experiment with Indesign to create a brochure however I was very new to it and needed more time to understand how to properly use the software therefore I found a better solution online, with Canva.com a graphical editing program online that I could use to create posters, leaflets and other different types of designs, that i could edit, test out different text and graphical elements.

12.PNG

I’ve enjoyed creating work on something I am passionate about, and also I would like to go more into visual editing, photography development, so being able to create the space designs was good learning curve and i loved putting something together different sections of art to create one whole piece and create something new.

something to learn would try out Adobe Lightroom, i had a small go at it and should have used it earlier in the process to help me complete my work.

Throughout the whole Final major project I made many changes to adjust to the time we had left and what would be more suited for a final design,sticking to the colour themes of dark shadows and the focus on blue, since it correlates to water/ice etc.

If I had more time and could improve my work I would make changes by 

Exhibition Display

I would have printed the photo pieces much larger and used a different layout. Include more of my digital work and use more of my paintings to be pinned up. However I felt in everything clashed a bit too much together in a small space, I definitely think a different arrangement would’ve have looked more appealing. I would have liked to also  have added information labels to describe what some of pieces were and how it related to my work. And of course get better quality prints since it all looked a bit faded out and there wasn’t too much clarity.

IMG_0057.JPG
Copyright is a legal right created by the law depending where you live that allows the creator of an original work exclusive rights for its use and distribution. Copyright helps protect authors and artists, but also promote the progress of the arts. 

To make sure i avoided any copyright, I only used sources for my work from free stock/content which has a creative commons licensee and can be modified and used commercially too. For example I used quite a few images from the site Pixibay which says

All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty free for anything you like, even in commercial applications. Attribution is not required

“Creative Commons is a non-profit that offers an alternative to full copyright.”

Attribution means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your copyrighted work – and derivative works based upon it – but only if they give you credit.


Noncommercial iconNoncommercial means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your work – and derivative works based upon it – but for noncommercial purposes only.

No Derivative Works iconNo Derivative Works means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform only verbatim copies of your work, not derivative works based upon it.

Share Alike iconShare Alike means:
You allow others to distribute derivative works only under a license identical to the license that governs your work.

CC0 iconPublic Domain Dedication (CC0) means:
You, the copyright holder, waive your interest in your work and place the work as completely as possible in the public domain so others may freely exploit and use the work without restriction under copyright or database law.

Public Domain Work iconPublic Domain Work means:
Works, or aspects of copyrighted works, which copyright law does not protect. Typically, works become part of the public domain because their term of protection under copyright law expired, the owner failed to follow certain required formalities, or the works are not eligible for copyright protection.


 

Rules of Copyright
– Written permission is needed in order to use another individual’s work
– Even if no mention of copyright is mentioned, you must assume it is protected under copyright law
– Breaking copyright law could result in an email to a lawsuit.
– Write/send an email to the author/creator for permission and follow directions regarding use
– Copyright notice is no longer required to obtain protection

Health and safety

Visits to places

Keep an eye of surroundings

  • Stay together with friends, don’t get lost

At home

PC risks, tidy organised room to create paintings

When using spray paint make sure to use the mask to protect from the fumes

At college

Computer work – Sat comfortable, with good posture to not cause any discomfort or back injury

Exhibtion prep

  • Careful with sharp tools, use spray mount in an open area with good air flow as it can be flammable

Be aware of health and safety risks preventing any injuries or strains to help me get through the project as safe as possible with fewer mistakes. I will be using the PC alot to create digital assets.  I should make sure I take regular breaks and reduce chance of eye strain or headaches, especially any wrist pain so that I make my project run smoothly without any issues.

Leave a Reply

